Index  

Summary

In our globalised world even small, simple actions can impact profoundly the life of citizens at the other end of the world. Let's consider whether our daily life conduct could contribute also to a better life for other people on our globe.
Introduction  

The globalisation investing today's world is the consequence of increased speed and diffusion of information. Almost everybody today can comunicate at a reasonable cost with someone far away, allowing this way the emergence of many new opportunities in commerce. History tells us that every time humanity has made steps toward progress the phenomenon has invariably been accompanied by temporary negative effects. Only the correction of this side effects could ensure that the step were a real progress for all men.

 

Even the most vehement detractors will not be able to stop the evolution stemming from globalisation but their claims remind us constantly that in order to make of this phenomenon a true step forward we have yet to find adequate answers to its manifest side effects. Again history shows us that, in order to be accepted, true progress had always to be followed by new rules of ethical conduct.
This appeal wishes to contribute some arguments in favour of new ethical principles required to consolidate globalisation into a real progress for all men.

Identifying a problem  

Once when people bought products at the local market or grocery they usually knew about their origin and how they were produced, often they met with the producer itself. Today most people hardly are able to pinpoint on a world map the origin of the products they buy. Even less do they know about the conditions under which the goods are produced. This circumstances certainly account in part for the problems many people encounter in less developed countries.
We would not at all be pleased if we learned that the goods we legally bought from a store were the result of a theft. We never would buy products which would result in our environment being destroyed. We would consider it an unfair practice to buy underpriced goods from distressed people. We would not at all feel comfortable at the sight of children and adults being enslaved to labour.

 

Yet we buy every day goods unaware of the fact that many of them entail to various degrees one form or the other of the afore mentioned situations. If knowing this we continue to purchase this goods we become, according to our laws, accomplices in a crime. For strong as this assertion may sound it becomes almost of no weight if compared to the entity of the presumed crime. Provided that a court declares itself competent, the most you would risk is an admonition. Beside this, where there is no plaintiff there will be no action.
Exactly this occurs to the victims of the previously exemplified cases: they do not have the means to sue, so we never will hear from them. But even in the case somebody would try to sue he would be confronted with the problem of identifying a large number of culprits. Clearly it is the aggregate effect of this small offences that causes big injustices to those powerless victims.

Heading toward a solution  

Our laws never were the origin but always are the consequence of an acquired ethical conduct. As long as people are not aware of the injustice of an action they hardly will acknowledge any stated law. Therefore, what can contribute to the rise of awareness about an injustice caused by our actions? The first step is getting to know about the circumstances of production of the goods we buy. Awareness can only stem from the understanding of the mechanisms which govern our commerce. In other words the spread of information about opportunities should also be accompanied by the information under which circumstances they arise and who are the beneficiaries. Today there exist laudable initiatives for equitable commerce, as for ex. Max Havelaar Foundation, Fairtrade Labelling Organizations (FLO) etc.

 

They have already contributed to increase the awareness for the previously identified problems and have set up new trade channels based on fair rules. The fact that nobody really likes to live from charity should lead us to consider by far a better choice to pay a correct price than make donations from the savings we could make. May be our charitable feelings don't get apparently rewarded yet the self-esteem of the producers gets a boost and encourages them to improve their living standards by own means. Also from the economical point of view this is a sounder method than simple donations without real incentives to do something to change the own fate.

Conclusions  

What we see as a river is the result of many droplets of water. If many of us will expend a few additional cents to buy products sold under the fair trade label we will let also other peoples participate to a decent life as we do enjoy, therefore contributing to a reduction of human misery.

 

Even apparently small actions can have a great impact on the life of other peoples. These leads us to postulate a new daily life ethics whose main objective should be to integrate in our concept of justice the aggregate effect of many small actions.

Louis JEAN-RICHARD

October 2002

References  
  1. Max Havelaar Foundation - Mission
  2. FLO - Fairtrade Standards

Index  

Résumé

Dans notre monde globalisé même des simples petites actions peuvent influencer notablement la vie de citoyens à l'autre but du monde. Examinons notre conduite dans la vie quotidienne afin de voir si elle ne pourrait pas contribuer une meilleure vie aussi à d'autres gens sur notre globe.
Introduction  

La globalisation qui investit le monde d'aujourd'hui est la conséquence d'une vitesse accrue et d'une diffusion accrue de l'information. Presque tout le monde peut aujourd'hui communiquer à des coûts raisonnables avec quelqu'un lointain, permettant ainsi l'émergence de nombreuses nouvelles opportunités de commerce. L'histoire nous montre que chaque fois que l'humanité a fait des progrès le phénomène à été accompagné temporairement par des effets négatifs. Seulement la correction de ces effets collatéraux a permis d'assurer qu'ils deviennent de vrais pas en avant.

 

Même les plus ardents détracteurs ne seront en mesure d'arrêter l'évolution découlant de la globalisation mais leur clameurs nous rappellent constamment que pour faire de ce phénomène un vrais progrès nous devons encore trouver des réponses adéquates à ses manifestes effets collatéraux. Encore une fois l'histoire nous enseigne que pour être acceptés, les authentiques progrès ont toujours dû être suivis par des nouvelles règles de conduite éthique.
Cet appel désire apporter quelques arguments en faveur de nouveaux principes éthiques requis pour consolider la globalisation dans un vrai progrès pour tous les hommes.

Identification d'un problème  

Autrefois quand les gens achetaient des produits sur le marché local ou chez l'épicier ils connaissaient leur origine et comment on les produisait et souvent, ils rencontraient le producteur lui-même. Aujourd'hui la majorité des gens auraient de la peine à indiquer sur une carte mondiale l'origine des biens qu'ils achètent. Encore moins connaissent ils les conditions sous lesquelles ils ont été produits. Ces circonstances expliquent sûrement en partie les problèmes que beaucoup d'autres gens rencontrent dans des pays moins développés.
Nous ne serions point enchanté d'apprendre que les produits que nous avons légalement acheté dans un magasin proviennent d'un vol. Nous n'achèterions jamais des produits qui seraient la cause de la destruction de notre environnement. Nous réprouvons la pratique d'acheter à prix cassés des biens à des gens en détresse. Nous ne nous sentirions point à l'aise en voyant des enfants et des adultes asservis comme des esclaves au travail.

 

Pourtant nous achetons chaque jour des biens sans être conscients du fait que beaucoup d'eux impliquent à différents degrés l'une ou l'autre des situations que nous venons de donner en exemple. Si en connaissance de cause nous continuons à acheter ces biens, nous devenons selon nos lois complices d'un crime. Pour forte que cette affirmation apparaisse elle perd presque tout son poids si nous la confrontons à la réalité du crime présumé. Pourvu qu'une cour se déclare compétente, le plus qu'on risquerait serait une mise en garde solennelle. A part cela où il n'y a pas d'accusateur il n'y aura pas de cause.
C'est exactement cela qui arrive au victimes des situations précitées: ils n'ont pas les moyens de porter leur cause en justice, ainsi nous n'entendrons jamais parler d'eux. Même si quelqu'un tenterait une poursuite il se trouverait devant le problème d'identifier un grand nombre d'offenseurs. Bien évidemment c'est l'effet agrégé de ces petites injustices qui cause des grandes injustices à ces victimes impuissantes.

En route vers une solution  

Nos lois n'ont jamais été à l'origine mais ont toujours été la conséquence d'une conduite éthique acquise. Tant que les gens ne seront pas conscients de l'injustice causée par une action ils seront peu disposés à reconnaître une loi édictée. Quoi donc peut contribuer à une prise de conscience sur l'injustice causée par nos actions? Le premier pas est d'avoir connaissance des conditions de production des biens que nous achetons. La prise de conscience est seulement possible si on comprend les mécanismes qui contrôlent le commerce. En d'autres mots la diffusion de l'information à propos des opportunités devrait être accompagnée de l'information de comment elles surgissent et qui en est le bénéficiaire. Aujourd'hui des initiatives louables existent pour un commerce équitable, comme par ex. Max Havelaar Foundation, Fairtrade Labelling Organizations (FLO) etc.

 

Ils ont déjà contribué à une première prise de conscience des problèmes identifiés plus haut et ont institué des nouveaux canaux commerciaux basés sur des règles équitables. Le fait que personne n'aime vraiment vivre de la charité d'autrui devrait nous conduire à préférer payer un prix correct que de faire des donations suite aux épargnes qu'on à pu faire. Peut-être nos sentiments charitables n'en tireront apparemment aucune récompense cependant l'autoestime des producteurs sera rehaussée ce qui les encouragera à améliorer leur niveau de vie par leur propres moyens. Aussi du point de vue économique c'est une méthode plus efficace que de faire des donations sans réels encouragements à entreprendre quelque chose pour changer son propre sort.

Conclusions  

Ce que nous voyons comme une rivière est le résultat de maintes gouttes d'eau. Si beaucoup de nous acceptent de dépenser quelques centimes en plus pour acheter des produits sous l'égide du commerce équitable nous permettrons aussi a d'autres gens de participer à une vie décente comme nous en jouissons, contribuant ainsi à réduire la misère dans le monde.

 

Même des actions en apparence banales peuvent avoir un impact considérable sur la vie d'autrui. Ceci nous conduit a postuler une nouvelle éthique de la vie quotidienne qui aurait comme objectif principal l'intégration dans le concept de justice l'effet agrégé de nombreuses petites actions.

Louis JEAN-RICHARD

Octobre 2002

Références  
  1. Max Havelaar Foundation - Mission
  2. FLO - Fairtrade Standards